bye, felicia

On July 1st, I’ll be having a kinda major surgery: a laparoscopic hysterectomy and bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy.
 
Okay. Typing that was the hard part.
 
Most of you know that I’ve lived with a debilitating medical condition which has become increasingly difficult to live with–endometriosis. You may not know that most of my pain actually comes from a sister-condition called adenomyosis. These conditions mean that my body has cell growth in places it shouldn’t (endo, all throughout the abdominal cavity; adeno, within the musculature of the uterine walls).
 
I’m sure this sounds boring. I’m not getting this out the way I’d hoped.
 
I’d wanted to write something funny and irreverent about kicking my wicked reproductive organs to the curb, but it’s a complicated thing.
 
I’m scared.
 
I work with one of the world’s best endo doctors, which is why I have finally decided to take this chance. Even though my pain is linked to my periods, hysterectomy does NOT cure endo. Most women who have hysterectomies to cure endo are crushed when their pain comes back. The only reason this is a good option for me and my body is because of the presence of that sister-condition, adeno. It means that the removal of *my* uterus might actually help.
 
So on July 1st, it’s coming out.
 
Even though it’s laparoscopic, this is not a minor thing. I’ll be in the hospital overnight, and recovery is projected to take anywhere from 4 to 8 weeks. (after the first 2-3 weeks, fatigue is the hardest part to beat.)
 
I am a person who deals with life through connection with other people. I recognize that it might seem weird that I’m posting about this online, but hey–that’s me. That’s what I need in order to be okay with all of the things I’ve got in my head.
 
I’m posting about this because I need to be able to share this information with my friends and family. And I want to be able to blog about my feelings and my experiences and know that someone else might be comforted some day to read that I lived through the same pain they’re dealing with.
 
Last little bits of info:
 
1. Surgery is expensive. My doctor is brilliant, but insurance companies don’t understand our disease. So when my doctor does a 7 hour surgery on somebody, they try to pay him for a 90-minute appendectomy. In short, he doesn’t take insurance. I hope to file for out-of-network benefits, but that’s still a lot of money. So, to help offset that cost, I’m having a virtual garage sale. I’ll be selling lots of cute planner stuff I don’t need. Some books. Some bags. Please join my event and share it and help out if you can. https://www.facebook.com/events/1189983017700160/
 
2. I’m blogging about my thoughts and feelings on my old wordpress blog. You can keep up to speed there: kelsnotchels.wordpress.com
 
3. I’ve had the BEST time being a Jamberry consultant for the past year. I’ve made some great friends and great cash selling nail stickers that I LOVE. But priorities change. So, I’m hosting my last Jamberry party too. If you’d like to place an order, you can by visiting kelsnotchels.jamberry.com. I’ll be selling my personal back stock in the garage sale link above too.
 
Your thoughts and prayers mean the most though, so please keep those coming.
 
I’ve recently named my uterus “Felicia.” And now it’s time to say BYE.
 
One thought on “bye, felicia

  1. I had no idea you were going through this– I have Stage IV Endo (and have had for a long while). I had a laparoscopy 12 years ago and a hysterectomy this past December. I understand what you’re going through, and I’m hoping for a speedy and pain free recovery for you. Chin up, girl. It’s going to get better. I just want you to know you are not alone and I understand.

Leave a Reply

